Colorado State University

CIRA Carbon Research Group

This group at CIRA is dedicated to better understanding the carbon cycle, primarily through remote sensing measurements of carbon dioxide and methane. It consists of a dedicated group of full-time CIRA researchers, as well as students within CSU's department of atmospheric science.



Chris O'Dell - CIRA Senior Research Scientist, Christopher.ODell at Colostate.Edu, CV

Tommy Taylor - CIRA Research Associate III, tommy at

David Baker - CIRA Reserach Scientist III, David.f.Baker at

Andrew Schuh- CIRA Research Scientist III, Andrew.Schuh at

Gregory McGarragh - CIRA Research Scientist II, Gregory.McGarragh at


Robert Nelson - Ph.D. Student, rrnelson at

Emily Bell - Master's Student, Emily.Ilene.Bell at

Michael Cheeseman - Master's Student, Joint With Denning Group, Michael.Cheeseman at Colostate dot edu

Former Group Members

Andrew Manaster - MsC (2016), studied cloud feedbacks in the climate system, now a researcher at Remote Sensing Systems in Santa Rosa, CA.

Hannakaisa Lindqvist - Former Postdoc, 2014-2015, Hannakaisa.Lindqvist at Currently a researcher at the Finnish Meteorological Institute.

Igor Polonsky - Former Research Scientist III. Currently runs RT@RS Solutions in Tucson, AZ. ipolonsky at

Denis O'Brien - Former CIRA Senior Research Scientist. Currently lives in Australia and still works actively in the field of greenhouse gas remote sensing. Denis.OBrien at


CIRA Carbon Group in summer 2017

Chris O'Dell Research Group 2017

Back row from left: Heather Cronk, Chris O'Dell, Emily Bell, and Michael Cheeseman

Front row: David Baker, Tommy Taylor, Andrew Schuh, and Rob Nelson


Carbon Group in summer 2014

Chris O'Dell Research Group 2014

List of people (left to right): Michael Cheeseman, Andrew Schuh, Andy Manaster, Robert Nelson, Chris O'Dell, Tommy Taylor, and Hannakaisa Lindqvist


O'Dell Group in 2012

Chris O'Dell Research Group 2012

List of people (left to right): David Baker, Andrew Schuh, Rob Nelson, Chris O'Dell, Tommy Taylor, Igor Polonsky, Denis O'Brien and Tom Oda.